Another Fine Matrix

First, look at this full-size. See how there are 14 brands of cat food going across the top? I already told it I’d never heard of five of them, and yet here they all are again. It’s one thing to ask me if I’ve ever heard of a brand and to then, even if I haven’t, show me an ad for the brand and ask if I’ve seen that ad — I very well could have forgotten about it, or misremembered what brand it was for.

This is just stupid…

matrix from hell big

Worse, though, it’s endless. Here’s a reduced-size capture so you can see how long it is:

matrix from hell

This is what I’m referring to in the comments on Gary Langer’ post here — what the hell sort of non-representative person is going to sit through this? This kind of garbage really is the cancer that is killing market research. Stop pulling this crap, and then go and worry some more about probability samples.

3 Comments

Filed under bad user experiences, Greenfield, Market Research, matrixes make me cry, The cancer that is killing market research, web research

3 responses to “Another Fine Matrix

  1. ubu.roi

    So true. Even if online panels were truly random, even if every person would stand an equal chance of being in a panel, and most of them would actually compelte surveys online…who would read this kind of crap and ponder each and every line of each and every grid in order to give ita proper and well thought answer?

    To paraphrase Groucho Marx: I wouldn’t as respondents the kind of people who would actually answer my survey 🙂

  2. Sarah L.

    This is always so puzzling to me. I got my start in this industry 25 years ago, doing phone interviewing. In those days, there was a little thing built into the questionnaires called a “skip pattern,” and when the questionnaires were on paper, we had to figure out how to follow them. Then, upon the advent of computer-assisted interviewing, the skips were programmed in. People were only asked to rate a couple brands, and usually the ones they were most familiar with. It’s crazy to me that anyone would think these ratings are at all meaningful when some of these brands might be completely unfamiliar to the respondent.

  3. Pingback: Lightening the Respondent Burden, Making Research Fun | Future of Insight

Leave a Reply

