Whoa, Two Months?

Crap, I know I’ve been busy, but this is ridiculous.

Still fighting the good fight, but haven’t had time to write about (or even look at) much research lately. I did catch this grid a couple days ago, and I think it’s worth throwing up and looking at, not because it’s a particularly terrible example (it’s sadly just typical), but because I can imagine so many better ways to measure this:

harris vehicle grid

Can’t you picture something with different carmaker logos (or, maybe even better, images of their most popular models) that you can drag up and down or left and right to indicate exactly how likely you would be to consider each of them? And that’s just my very first thought on this one.

Flash makes pretty much anything possible, but we’re still using virtual #2 pencils to fill in virtual scantron bubbles, aren’t we? What do you think?

8 Comments

Filed under Harris, Market Research, matrixes make me cry, open questions, the web is a visual medium, web research

8 responses to “Whoa, Two Months?

  1. Welcome back, we missed you.
    The Rack, Thumbscrews, Iron Maiden, Boot Torture, Grids….all methods of torture. There are times grids cannot be avoided, but at the very least, they should be limited. Some sacrifice the validity of their data in the attempt to capture as much information as possible in this ‘efficient’ format.

  2. Logo’s or models have the disadvantage that you have to recognize them. Then again, this example has the disadvantage that you have to picture their models with it, which you might not be able to do either.

    Maybe even better would be to think about what you want to know exactly and consider redoing the whole question. Or make two short ones, or whatever. If it’s very likely that you will lease a Hyundai, how likely is it that you will lease a Porsche… ok that has some (ouch!) assumption in it on my side, terrible I know…

  3. Cross Man

    My comment is about the question itself.

    Who makes a distinction (or who could make a distinction) between the next time you buy/lease and the time after that? Can you imagine someone thinking to themselves – “there is no way I’m considering a Lexus this time… but the time after that maybe I would…”. If it were true you’d be asking for 2 answers with space for only one: “this time I will Very Likely consider a/an Audi, but the time after that I am not so sure….”

    As to the random use of capitals and lazy a/an construction, I’m not even going there.

    One last thing. There is no way that I will ever consider buying or leasing a/an [sic] Volvo . Where can I code this? I see that option is not available, should I quit the survey or just put in some random answer?

  4. ubu.roi

    I’m thinking: why not show the logos (plus brand names for easy recognition) and drag scale items over them, and the item would stick like a label over the logo? I mean the logic of a grid is to apply scale attributes to a list of answers, rather than apply the answers to the scale.

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen it done like this. Would this be wrong somehow?

  5. Cross Man

    ubu.roi. the “answers” you refer to are actually the questions with just the “how likely would you be to consider..” bit missing. if this were a telephone survey you’d get the full question, one by one, with an answer (one of the scale items) coming back from the respondent. lots of nice ways to do similar online, doesn’t even require drag ‘n’ drop – how about a nice big set of buttons to push?

  6. ubu.roi

    @Cross Man: I was using ConfirmIt terminology, I know it’s not exactly correct.

    And you do have a nice big set of buttons; they are called radio buttons! 😀

  7. By the way, I also don’t like the super-standard layout of this whole grid. What is this? HTML 1.0? Even a simple table can look better and more comprehensive than this, if that is still what you want to go for.

  8. Passerby

    Actually you wouldn’t even need Flash to make it better. JS would suffice for bigger buttons and a looking glass function over the brand names.

    Sadly the idea with the pictures usually fails most of the time because customers are not able to provide useful pictures

Leave a Reply

