Rethinking Incentives

Here’s something to think about:

How much of an impact does this…

…have on which button I click here:

If I really want that $5, I’m not going to take the chance and click either of those endpoint answer choices — I’m going to play it safe and put myself right in the middle of the range.

I wonder if Greenfield has ever run a side by side test where they offer $5 to a third of the respondents, $10 to another third, and nothing but a sweepstakes entry to the remaining third. I’m willing to bet that if they have, the percentage of respondents working for large companies increases hand-in-hand with the compensation figure.

Leave a comment

Filed under incentives/compensation

Leave a Reply

